10 Things you can learn from my mom to be successful

Alright let’s face it. Mom’s are often times the unsung heroes. They have to deal with babies, poop, dishes, laundry, and many times a full time job. As time goes on though we begin to appreciate them more and more.

As a child I did not understand why my mom would often times appear miserable and tired. About that time DAD would get home. PARTY TIME! Dad, being a pastor and having a bit of flexibility in his schedule as well as being the eternal optimist in the family, seemed like a WAY cooler parent. After all he did take me hunting, fishing, to football practice, and out for A-Days (Rewards for good grades). Mom just took me to the dentist, school, and to timeout when I beat up my little sister.

For a long time I thought Mom was totally lame. Then one day something funny happened. I repeated something she always told me to a friend. “Weird” I thought. “That really is true isn’t it?” As I have gotten older and gotten to know my Mom better I have realized she is secretly pretty awesome. But not after this blog post it will be a secret no longer. At least like 40 more people will discover her awesomeness. The truth is she is pretty proud of the success I have achieved as a 26 year old kid and I owe much of it to her. So without further ado, 10 lessons you can learn from my mom to be successful!

Lessons I learned from my mom:

  1. Enjoy things that are free. Really it’s ok. Like Hotel shampoo. It is there for a reason so don’t feel obligated when people give you things. Accept it! They say the best things in life…are free.
  2. Learn how to say NO.  Many times as a kid I couldn’t stand my mom because she had us on…a budget. I couldn’t possibly understand and it made me angry to see other kids getting things that I wanted but guess what? I survived. I was healthy. I definitely did not have much style with my Wal-Mart sneakers but that is ok. Sometimes you have to be the bad guy. As my friend Dave Ramsey says, “Live like no one else, so later you can live like no one else.”
  3. You can do anything for a little while.  I might hate this phrase more than any other in the world but it is true. It might suck right now, but it will get better. I remember when my mom cleaned houses for people to make ends meet. There were days when I’m sure she thought it was below her. Toughen up and deal with it until the situation improves, you are there for a reason.
  4. You can’t always get what you want. I think an old singer also said this (sorry parents). But really, learn to let the things go that  you can’t control.
  5. There is always a cheaper deal out there. Find it. This woman could find a deal in the dollar store! Every penny saved is a penny earned. Don’t be below asking for a better deal. You never know unless you ask.
  6. Just because I think differently, doesn’t mean I am wrong. Mom and Dad fights were fun to watch at times and scary at others. One thing I remember her saying in some of those is this, and she was right: We are all different and we think, process, and reason differently. You never know what that other person has gone through that day, or why they think the way they do, but we do know they are a human and they deserve respect and decency.
  7. It is never too late to learn. In her twenty’s mom planned to be a nurse and then BOOM! 4 kids happened. Way to go dad. 30 years later she kicked us all out of the house and decided she wasn’t done with her dreams. She went back to school and became a certified nurse. No excuses. Go back and try again.
  8. Go for a drive or a walk. Sometimes you need to regroup, calm down, focus and just think.I remember my mom being frustrated and angry to the point she could not handle it anymore. Whether it be finances, a fight with my dad, or dishes and laundry piled a mile high. Sometimes she needed to vent so she would hop in the car and just drive, or take off on a walk. Get alone, pray, meditate, relax, breathe.
  9. Rise and shine and give God the glory glory! My mom used to come running (and dancing unfortunately) in to my room singing this song to wake me up on Sunday mornings. While I hated her for it, I am thankful for the joy she displayed on a consistent basis. Give God the glory for life, love, and the pursuit of happiness. You have a new day, do not waste it. It is an opportunity.
  10. Be weird. Be ok with it. Like any good parents, mine know how to completely embarrass me. Sometimes I wonder if they know how ridiculous they are and then I get a video message of them doing dance moves together in the kitchen and I realize….yes. My mom knows she might seem odd, but she is also extremely content with who she is. “You can’t please everyone” she once told me. Good advice. Couldn’t have any fun if we were always worried about what everyone else thought right?

240405_10150188792417499_8170223_o

2 thoughts on “10 Things you can learn from my mom to be successful

  1. Adrian, great post. Your mom sounds inspirational in many ways. I related to a lot of this- from a mom side. 🙂 I am glad to hear it will pay off one day. She did a great job raising you!

  2. Thanks for the shout out brother! 😉
    Also, this was such a wonderful post and I was laughing and tearing up by the end (probably because she’s my mom too and I know exactly what you’re talking about). Anyways, I love it. Did you show this to her?

Leave a Reply

